Quasi una fantasia

gramophonesmall.jpg

Illustration Friday – Homage:  A homage to Beethoven (and The Beatles).

In the background are sheet music pages of Beethoven’s Quasi una Fantasia (Almost a Fantasy), popularly known as the Moonlight Sonata. Mastering this piece on the piano is on my Things-to-do-before-I-die list :-) The words coming out of the gramophone are lyrics from one of my favorite Beatles songs, Across the Universe, which was recently beamed by NASA into Polaris, the North star.

.

32 thoughts on “Quasi una fantasia

  1. Chris Leavens

    This is excellent! The glow around the bird, the texture of the background, the words flowing from the gramophone, the gramophone itself, the figures flowing along with the words. Really nice.

    Reply
  2. Victoria

    Hello Johanna,
    I found this picture by chance, and have fallen in love. Those songs are two of my personal favorites and I am in a ‘bird’ stage. I was wondering if I could get a copy of this – do you still have it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

