34 thoughts on “Water Baby

  1. Nancy

    Wow! Beautiful! Reminds me of the illustrations in the original The Water Babies book, by Jessie Wilcox Smith or someone like that.

    Reply
  2. johanna

    thanks everybody πŸ™‚

    hi nancy, yup it was inspired by oriental paintings and the water babies book. i loved that book when i was little πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Tammie

    I feel so happy that you post your art with all these prompts, because I love seeing what you are creating! This is wonderful!!!

    Reply
  4. ronald pd brandt

    wow. (i think you’ve gotten plenty of those so far, but “wow” is the first thing that came to mind, truly.) such a beautiful piece. the lush, but subtle color really work so well.

    Reply
  5. Lysh

    I’ve only just started participating in inspire me thursday and illustration friday. The thought had not occurred to me to double the difficulty and try to combine both themes into one piece! Well done for the melding of the two.

    Reply
  6. Heather

    I love your painting of the baby, the anonymous baby amongst the fishes. I was listening to claude debussy the piece that reminds me so much of walt disney for some reason, and i came across the image. its so placid and so beautiful its got a georgeous resonance to it. simple and subtle the tones when put together don’t hurt me too much, i mean they sit well to let me appreciate the subject.
    cheers

    Reply

Leave a comment